FIFA World Cup 2018 Draws hold this Friday

FIFA World Cup 2018
FIFA World Cup Trophy

The FIFA World Cup 2018 qualifying draws for African nations will be staged Friday by 4pm Nigerian time at the CAF headquarters in Cairo, Egypt.

Twenty teams will be drawn into five groups of four teams each to play on home and away basis from October 2016 to November 2017 with the overall winners advancing to the World Cup.

The qualifiers include Ghana, Senegal, Algeria, Cote d’Ivoire, Tunisia, Egypt, South Africa, Mali, Guinea, Cape Verde and Cameroon. Nigeria have qualified for five World Cups previously – 1994, 1998, 2002, 2010 and 2014.

The world football governing body FIFA has released the special ranking for African teams ahead of the draw for the 2018 FIFA World Cup qualifiers. According to the new rankings, the Super Eagles of Nigeria are likely to be in pot three that includes Congo, Morocco, Mali and South Africa.

Algeria, Cote d‘Ivoire, Ghana, Senegal and Egypt are the top seeded teams for the continent and are drawn in pot one. Tunisia, Cape Verde Islands, Congo Democratic Republic, Guinea and Cameroon are drawn in pot two.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.