Mikel, Iheanacho, Iwobi in Siasia 35-man squad for 2016 Olympics

Samson Siasia

As approved by head coach of the U-23 team, Samson Siasia the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF), has released a list of 35 players who will take part in the final training ahead of the 2016 Olympics in Rio, Brazil.

Chelsea midfielder, John Mikel Obi and Watford striker, Odion Ighalo, make the list. Also on the list is Alex Iwobi of Arsenal and Kelechi Iheanacho of Manchester City.
Siasia and his squad will have their training camp in Atlanta, USA, where Nigeria won the Olympic Gold two decades ago.

The coach admits the choice is to “psychologically prepare my boys for victory in Brazil.” A final list of 18 will be released before the team leaves for Brazil.
The Dream Team VI for the Rio games have been drawn to face Sweden, Colombia and Japan in the preliminary stage.
Below is the full list of players that made the cut.

Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa FC, South Africa), Yusuf Bala (Kano Pillars), Emmanuel Daniel (Enugu Rangers), Taiwo Abdulrahman (Kwara United), Ndubuisi Agu (FC Porto, Portugal), Junior Ajayi (CS Sfaxien, Tunisia), Stanley Amuzie (Olhanense FC, Portugal), Taiwo Awoniyi (Frankfurt FC, Germany), Okechukwu Azubuike (Yeni Malatyaspor, Turkey), Etor Daniel (Enyimba FC), Augustine Dimgba (Sunshine Stars), William Ekong (Haugesund FC, Norway), Saturday Erimuya (Kayseri Erciyespor, Turkey), Oghenekaro Etebo (CD Feirense FC, Portugal), Imoh Ezekiel (Anderlecht, Belgium), Saviour Godwin (Ostende, Belgium), Odion Ighalo (Watford FC, England),

Kelechi Iheanacho (Manchester City, England), Alex Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England), Emiloju Julius (MFM FC), Kingsley Madu (AS Trencin, Slovakia), John Mikel Obi (Chelsea FC, England), Musa Muhammed (Istanbul Basaksehir, Turkey), Usman Muhammed (CF Uniao, Portugal), Wilfred Ndidi (KRC Genk, Belgium), Erhun Obanor (MFM FC), Godfrey Oboabona (Caykur Rizespor, Turkey), Kenneth Omeruo (Chelsea FC, England), Sodiq Saliu (Seraing FC, Belgium), Abdullahi Shehu (CF Uniao, Portugal), Moses Simon (KAA Gent, Belgium), Seth Sincere (Rhapsody FC), Ndifreke Udo (Abia Warriors), Aminu Umar (Osmalispor, Turkey), Sadiq Umar (AS Roma, Italy)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.