Godwin Obaseki wins Edo governorship election

APC Governorship candidate for Edo State

The candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) Godwin Obaseki has been declared the winner of the Edo State governorship election by the Independent National Electoral Commission on Thursday.

Obaseki polled 319,483 votes out of 613, 244 votes cast on Wednesday. His closest challenger Osagie Ize-Iyamu of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) got a total of 253,173.

The total valid votes cast in the election stood at 582, 299 while 30, 945 were rejected.

The PDP rejected the result, saying it did not reflect the wish of the electorate. But the chairman of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Edo chapter, described the rejection of the state governorship election results by the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) as an act of a bad loser.

Edo State chairman of PDP, Dan Orbih, said at a press conference on Thursday that the result “fabricated and a pre-determined” by INEC and the Edo State Government.

Orbih said that the results as they were being announced by the INEC, were at a complete variance with what the party got from it agents and independent observers.

He alleged that the two-week extension of the poll by the electoral body was to allow for more time to perfect the manipulation of the process.

“You will recall that our state Publicity Secretary had briefed the press less than 48 hours to the elections on what is playing out now.

“If you go by the results that were announced at the polling units and wards across the state, it shows that PDP would have won by over 30,000 votes.

“What INEC is announcing is clearly different from what we got from our agents and independent observers in the 192 wards and over 2,000 units across the state.

“We are rejecting these results as they were being announced by INEC and we are coming out early enough to make this known,” he said.

See collated results for all LGAs below:

  1. Owan West

APC: 12,862

PDP: 10,132

  1. Egor

APC: 26,177

PDP: 19,514


  1. Esan North East

APC: 9,130

PDP: 16,220


  1. Igueben

APC: 7,802

PDP: 7,560


  1. Uhunmwode

APC: 10,911

PDP: 8,667


6. Esan South East

APC: 9,554

PDP: 11,466

  1. Oredo

APC: 37,612

PDP: 30,492


  1. Orhionmwon

APC: 15,262

PDP: 16,446

  1. Esan West

APC 13,114

PDP 16,311

  1.   Owan East

APC: 21, 233
PDP: 12,889

  1. Ovia North East

APC: 17,561

PDP: 13,141

  1. Esan Central

APC: 9,781

PDP: 10,180

  1. Etsako East

APC: 18,078

PDP: 12,552

  1. Etsako Central

APC: 10,373

PDP: 8,827

  1. Etsako West

APC: 29,199

PDP: 10,843


  1. Ikpoba-Okha

APC: 33,469

PDP: 26,096


  1. Akoko-Edo

APC: 24,545

PDP: 13,027

18. Ovia South-West

APC: 12,820

PDP: 8,810


       APC: 319,483

      PDP: 253,173

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.