Mohamed Salah Wins CAF African Player of the Year Award Again


Egypt and Liverpool star Mohamed Salah has been named the 2018 Aiteo African Player of the Year for a second successive time at a gala awards ceremony in Senegal Tuesday.

Salah will becomes the first player from the north of the continent to claim the title back-to-back.

Egypt forward Salah, 26, beat Liverpool team-mate Sadio Mane of Senegal and Arsenal and Gabon striker Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang to the title.

He received the award at a ceremony in Senegal on Tuesday.

“I have dreamt of winning this award since I was a child and now I have done so twice in a row,” Salah said.

Salah was also voted the BBC African Footballer of the Year for the second time in December.

He scored 44 goals for Liverpool during the 2017-18 season, helping the Reds to the Champions League final before scoring twice for Egypt at the World Cup in Russia.

He has scored 16 goals in 29 appearances across all competitions for Liverpool this season.

Houston Dash and South Africa forward Thembi Kgatlana was crowned the 2018 African Women Player of the Year prize.

Kgatlana was outstanding for South Africa at the 2018 AWCON tournament where she emerged top scorer of the after netting five goals. She was also named the Most Valuable Player.

The 22-year-old becomes the second South African to be named as Africa’s best after Noko Matlou beating three-time winner Asisat Oshoala and Francisca Ordega to the crown.

Bayana Bayana of South Africa’s coach Desiree Ellis won the African Women’s Coach of the Year while Hervé Renard was adjudged the men’s Coach of the Year.

Mauritania won the Men’s Team of the Year 2018. The Corentin Martins’ led side are one of the 14 countries to have qualified for the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations tournament billed for Egypt.

Read: List of AITEO CAF Awards 2018 Winners

Nigeria’s Super Falcons won the Women’s Team of the Year 2018 by the Confederation of African Football, CAF. The Super Falcons won the 2018 Africa Womens Cup Of Nations tournament in Ghana for a record ninth time after beating South Africa 4-3 on penalties in the final.

Amaju Pinnick, president of the Nigeria Football Federation and first vice president of CAF received the award on behalf of the Super Falcons.

Fouzi Lekjaa was presented with the Tessema Award.

Achraf Hakimi beat Wilfred Ndidi and Frank Kessie to the African Youth Player of the Year award.

Meanwhile no Nigerian player made the CAF Africa Best XI.

The Africa Best XI include: Denis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns/Uganda), Serge Aurier (Tottenham/Ivory Coast), Medhi Benatia (Juventus/Morocco), Eric Bailly (Manchester United/Ivory Coast), Kalidou

Koulibaly (Napoli/Senegal); Naby Keita (Liverpool/Guinea), Thomas Partey (Atletico Madrid/Ghana), Riyad Mahrez (Manchester City/Algeria); Mohamed Salah (Liverpool/Egypt), Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang

(Arsenal/Gabon) and Sadio Mane (Liverpool/Senegal).

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.